Bon Jovi Week Day 7 ~ Concert Day

#1: “Bed of Roses” (Album: Keep The Faith ~ 1992)

“Bed of Roses” is probably the most soulful song in the Bon Jovi catalog.  I think I’ve only heard them perform it once in concert.  It’s almost too hard for me to describe why I love this song so much. I LOVE Jon’s voice. LOVE IT!  So much so that it is one of the few sounds in the entire world that can instantaneously calm me down.  Case in point, I was at a conference one time and the person giving the presentation at one of the sessions was incredibly captivating.  I didn’t know why. I couldn’t figure it out for the life of me, but I was just so enthralled and hanging on every word.  Then it dawned on me, he sounded exactly like Jon, and that’s just his speaking voice. In my head, when I think of Jon’s singing voice, his voice on “Bed of Roses” is what I hear.

Honorable Mention: “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen

I’m naming this an Honorable Mention because it is my absolute favorite cover Bon Jovi does.  I’ve gotten to hear it in concert, but it has never been recorded on any of their records.  I have heard Leonard Cohen say that he thinks this song is over-covered.  I’d venture to guess it’s the most covered song ever, but Mr. Cohen has also gone so far as to say that Bon Jovi’s version of it is his favorite.  I don’t think you can get higher praise than having the original writer and performer of the song say he likes your cover of it the best. I believe I did in fact cry when I saw them perform it live.

I’ll do a post concert blog to let y’all know how it went, but something tells me it’s gonna be awesome as always.  Thanks for sharing this week with me, y’all.  I do hope I didn’t bore you too much. ♥

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on February 2011, in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

