Bon Jovi Week Day 3

We’re in the top 5 now.  Have I completely thrown you for a loop, yet with my favorites?

#5: “Why Aren’t You Dead?” (Album: 100,000,000 Bon Jovi Fans Can’t Be Wrong ~ 2004)

By 2004, Bon Jovi, a band that was supposedly thrown into a box with the “hair bands” of the 80s, had sold 100,000,000 records.  Rather than release a greatest hits album or box set of all their albums, they decided to reward their die hards with a release of as much of their unreleased material that could fit into a box set.  That became what we know as 100,000,000 Bon Jovi Fans Can’t Be Wrong.  The first song on the first CD of that box set is “Why Aren’t You Dead?”  I still can’t figure out why this song went unreleased until the box set.  It’s one of those “Amen, brother…right on songs” in the same vein as “Before He Cheats” or “You’re So Vain.”  And it cracks me up every time I listen to it.  Consider these lyrics:

You told me you loved me, ’til death do us part
So tell me there’s a tombstone where there used to be a heart
You said you couldn’t live without me
So why aren’t you dead?
Instead of six feet under you’re in someone else’s bed
There’s just one thing that I can’t get through my head
You said you couldn’t live without me so why aren’t you dead?

Makes sense, right…completely logical…downright hysterical.  There’s no official video for this song, but I still found a YouTube video of the recording for you to hear.

And this one of a live performance of the song.  It’s not the whole song, just the last chorus and the end.

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on February 2011, in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

