Happy Valentine’s Day from KitchenAid

Generally speaking, I have an aversion to this holiday.  Don’t get me wrong. I’m a big fan of love, but I don’t think you need a holiday to tell the person you love that you love them.  So, normally, I simply try to survive this day each year and then go on with my life, but today I came home to a box on my doorstep.  Wait, let me back up…

About four or five years ago, I bought a set of KitchenAid knives in my favorite color, red, because one of these days all of my appliances and all of my kitchen utensils will be KitchenAid products in red, so I buy them piece by piece as the years go by.  Then a year or two ago, one of my pretty red knives broke…the blade just snapped right off.  I can’t even remember what I was cutting when it happened, but I was devastated.  However, I knew that I had seen in some stores individual knives, so I figured I could probably replace just that knife.  Days, weeks, and months went by and I never found a proper replacement and had just about resigned myself to having that knife missing for good.  As a last ditch effort, I decided to check the KitchenAid website and see if they had a replacement part for my cutlery set sort of like you can buy replacement parts for blenders and other appliances.  When I had no luck there, I decided to email KitchenAid customer service and see if they recommended an online site where I could possibly purchase a replacement for the knife.

That was February 3rd.

On February 4th, I received a response that said they no longer carried my product, but gave me a website to go search for a cutlery set that was comparable to the one I have, and the sentence ended with…wait for it…”we can send a replacement.”  I’m sorry…come, again…send a replacement?  For how much?  So, I’m curious and in my stunned stupor, I go to the website, search for the KitchenAid cutlery sets, and find one that is similar, but in my opinion much, much nicer than the one I have.  However, it only shows as available in black on the website.  Cut back to my email response from KitchenAid, and I email them the model number and link to the set that is most comparable to my set and explain that the main difference is that the set is black while mine was red.

On February 5th, they respond with this simple message: “Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for contacting KitchenAid. We have requested replacement be sent to you at no charge.  Your item will be sent from our Robbinsville, NJ warehouse via UPS Ground and should arrive within 2 to 4 weeks. We look forward to resolving this issue for you!”

I’m pretty sure I sat stunned staring at the message for what seemed like forever, blinking occasionally to make sure I was reading it correctly, so you’ll forgive me if I was skeptical.  I thought…yeah right…we’ll see if I actually get anything.

Fast forward to today…a mere 9 days later…not 2-4 weeks…NINE DAYS!  And I come home from work to find this on my doorstep.

Stunned, thrilled, amazed, and still in love with any and all things KitchenAid does NOT even begin to cover it.  AND IT CAME IN RED!!!  I didn’t pay one penny for this new cutlery set.  I needed ONE knife, folks, ONE 4 1/2 inch utility knife and they sent me a whole new full set of cutlery. All I did was send one little email as a loyal customer of KitchenAid, which in the grand scheme of things takes little energy on my part.  I think I’m most amazed that customer service like this even still exists in this world.  And even more so, I’m amazed that there are still companies out there that believe in and stand by their products so much that they will replace items like this free of charge for a lifetime.

Thank you, KitchenAid for making Valentine’s Day NOT suck for once…now I’m gonna go see if I can find something to chop.  🙂

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on February 2011, in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was thinking about you earlier today and wishing that I was close enough to let Lauren deliver something sweet. I’m glad KitchenAid stepped in to make today special. 🙂

  2. That is sooo awesome!!

Leave a Reply

