Terrie’s Daughter

541302-R1-038-17A_016_2

Today is my mother’s 36th Mother’s Day, which means two things:

  1. My older brother is really freaking old (love you, Andy), and
  2. What an accomplishment for her to have raised her children into adulthood after having saved them from themselves and each other a multitude of times during their childhood.

In all seriousness, I can look into the person I have become and recognize the incredible impact she had on creating that human being.  The things I appreciate, the things I do, the things I laugh at that I know she’d laugh at, too.  It’s all there.  I’m certainly no mirror image of her.  She’d like me to clean my house and make my bed a little more often than I do, but when it comes down to the list of women she wants to hang out with, I’m blessed to be counted among them.  I am so thankful that she has gotten to be a grandmother (or Mimi as Lincoln knows her).  Even though she was one heck of a stellar mother, I think she shines even more as a grandmother.

At church today, our minister spoke briefly, leading into his sermon, about the names/descriptions of Jesus, such as “King of kings” and “Lord of lords.”  The last one he mentioned was “Mary’s son.”  I stopped and thought about that for a minute as our minister continued with his thoughts.  He painted a very beautiful picture of the kind of impact Mary had on Jesus’s life.  We speak so often about Jesus’s impact on our lives, but we rarely, if ever, speak about who impacted Him.  Our minister noted how you can learn about the kind of person Jesus was throughout the Bible, but if you want to see how consistent Mary was as a mother to her sons, read the book of James (Jesus’s brother).  I intend to do that this week.

I am thankful to be a child of God more than anything else in my life, but in knowing just who my mother is as a woman, as a mother, as a person, I am grateful for what being Terrie’s daughter has given me.

Thanks, mom and Happy Mother’s Day!

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on May 2009, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Grant just looked at that picture and declared, “buh ball!” (which is Grant for “basketball”).

Leave a Reply

