So I Lied

Yeah…I did.  On 1/11/2009, I said I wasn’t going to write about the Tar Heels any more this season until March Madness started.  Well I attended the game in College Park, MD on Saturday and was so disgusted by the end of it that it took until probably some time this morning to get over it.  The sad thing is that I think they looked a lot like they did two years ago in the Elite Eight against Georgetown.  They’d built a 10 point lead going into the back end of the 2nd half and then proceeded to allow Georgetown to come back and beat them in overtime. 

Well Maryland did the same thing on Saturday afternoon, and what frustrates me the most is that it’s obvious to me that they haven’t learned their lesson.  Last season I saw a fire in these guys that was almost like revenge was ever present on their minds.  Like every missed shot cut them to the core.  I’m not seeing that now.  They don’t seem to care if they lose the game or their defense is poor.  They think that their offense can simply outscore any opponent who tries to make a comeback.  Well, from this point forward, they can’t afford to make any mistakes, and I for one will be SHOCKED if they actually play mistake free basketball.  I never want them to lose a game, but when they do, I prefer it to be that they put up every fight in the book and the other team just had the ball last. 

I mean, I get it.  Marcus Ginyard is out for the season when they were expecting to have him.  Well as much as I love Marcus and as much as I know how much we need him on defense.  If Marcus was the key to the whole thing, they’d be defending their 3rd straight title at this point.  Plenty of teams lose players unexpectedly and find the drive and ambition to overcome it.  This group of Tar Heels by far should be able to do that.  Coach Williams shouldn’t have to coach desire.  That’s something every athlete should be born with to the point that I’d question any athlete who didn’t and say, “then why do you do what you do?”. 

Here’s hoping they’ll make me smile soon because right now, I’m thinking Tyler didn’t come back for his senior season for this.  In fact, I’m not sure any of them came back for this.

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on February 2009, in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

