WW(T)IR

This is going to quite possibly be the fastest WWIR you’ll ever get, but I’m swamped with work, so you have to take what I can give you at this point.

  • GEAUX BAMA:  I’ve never been a fan of spelling the word “go” the LSU way, but after Saturday’s game, I think I have to buckle under the pressure.  To say I was stressed for the better part of 4 hours would be the understatement of the year.  If you are a friend of mine on Facebook, you can go back and read my status updates.  Some had some shortened colorful language in them.  I wasn’t planning on updating my status that much, but I needed an outlet for my frustration as I watched the game.  We could have won that game in regulation given that during that time period we left two touchdowns and a field goal out there on the field instead of on the scoreboard.  I doubt that win will keep people from reminding us every chance they get that Nick Saban used to coach at LSU, but it felt so incredibly good to get that win…not for Nick and not to keep the #1 ranking…but just to flat out beat LSU who had beaten us the previous 5 seasons.  Now I realize we’ve got an uphill battle on our hands and that #1 ranking and National Championship bid is ours to lose.  Personally, I’m kind of sick of hearing the announcers talk about Alabama and the National Championship in the same breath.  I’d prefer to actually get to the Championship game before we start talking about it.  Until then we’ve got dates with Mississippi State, Auburn, and Florida.  That’s not exactly what would be on my Christmas list.
  • Make A Wish: Over the weekend, I started seeing Macy’s commercials about the Make A Wish Foundation.  They peaked my interest because the commercials start out telling the story of “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus.”  Next to the story of Jesus’s birth, that is my favorite Christmas story.  In any case, Macy’s is donating $1 up to a million dollars for every Letter to Santa Claus that is deposited into their special mailboxes at their stores.  For more information, go here.  So, if you’ve got some time, be a kid, again, and write a letter to Santa Claus.  You have to put a stamp on the envelope and Macy’s will actually take the letters to the Post Office, but really this might be the quickest way to donate to the Make A Wish Foundation.
  • A Win Streak:  I can’t believe I’m saying this in the middle of the season with a smile on my face, but the Colts are on a two game winning streak.  Now I realize they won 2 games in a row earlier in the season, but this current streak feels better because I feel like they scratched and clawed their way for these.  Playing the Pats and Steelers back to back is never easy, especially this season.  They were both tough opponents, but I’m pleased with the progress I’m starting to see on the field.  I never thought I’d believe we were in good shape with a 5-4 record.  Heck, after the 2001 season, I never thought we’d be under .500 again until after Peyton retired. 
  • Contingency Plans: I’m kind of tired of hearing Mike Martz’s excuse for the play that San Francisco ran Monday night to end the game.  The play that was sent in prior to the refs stopping the game for a booth review was for the ball being on the 1 yard line.  Now, the booth decided to review the spot of the ball, and when the decision came down to move the ball back 2 yards, the refs didn’t give the 49ers time to change their play…so Mike Martz says.  Well, regardless of whether the refs gave you time to change the play, there should have been 2 plays in the quarterback’s ear already.  Martz should have said, “if they leave it at the 1, here’s the play, but if they move it back, here’s the play.”  This is why women should run football.  We plan ahead.  Men make contingency plans only after plan A doesn’t work.  If Martz is looking for someone to blame for the 49ers losing that game on that play, he needs to find himself a mirror. 
  • Stress Reaction: Tyler Hansbrough’s stress reaction in his right shin is causing mestress.  Apparently, he is now “extremely doubtful” for the Penn game on Saturday afternoon.  That doesn’t so much concern me as the quick turnaround time to the next game.  After Saturday, North Carolina plays Kentucky the following Tuesday.  I’m hopeful that they’re holding Tyler out for Penn so he’ll be ready for Kentucky.  If not, I guess we’ll see what would have happened if Tyler had decided to go to the NBA and North Carolina kept everyone else.  And, while I enjoy seeing Tyler in a suit (I’m like a proud momma seeing her baby boy all dressed up.), I did NOT enjoy seeing the pictures of him on the bench in a suit during North Carolina’s exhibition game against UNC-Pembroke. 

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on November 2008, in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment