WWIR: Progress

  • 2008 Election: History was made last night. History was going to be made regardless of who became the next President of the United States. Because of the nature of my job, I cannot public express my political views, of which I have plenty. If you really want to know how I felt about last night’s results, leave me a comment or email me and I’ll be happy to tell you.
  • Lincoln’s Latest: Lincoln dressed as a pirate for Halloween this year. Two days after Halloween he celebrated what would have been his birthdate if he had made it to his due date. Here are some pictures from both.
  • Trick or Treat: I think I’m turning into an old fuddy duddy. Friday night when I was handing out candy to the trick or treaters, I had one boy who looked to be late elementary/early middle school age. He asked if he could have extra candy for his brother who wasn’t allowed to go trick or treating because he is failing Spanish. So, I tell the kid that I don’t think it’s fair to give his brother candy if his brother is being punished for failing Spanish and the punishment for such is to have his trick or treating privileges taken away. The kid didn’t see it my way and proceeded to look inside my house where I had a box of Canada Dry sitting just inside the door. He then told me that I could at least spare some Canada Dry. To that I said, “Happy Halloween” and shut the door. Believe me, I fully expected to wake up to a toilet papered and/or egged house on Saturday morning, but I didn’t. Seriously, do kids really not understand what punishment is? And furthermore, why couldn’t that kid share HIS candy with his brother instead of asking for extra? Yeah..I’m a fuddy duddy.
  • Baby Boom: Congratulations to several of my friends who recently had babies. The wives of two guys I went to high school with each recently gave birth to baby girls. Congrats to Joe and Tara and Michael and Schuyler (I went to high school with Schuyler, too). Also, my friends Laura and Brent and Kelli and Brent are the proud parents of baby boys.
  • #1 Ranking For Sale: I am incredibly proud of the way Alabama has played this season. I am equally proud of the #1 ranking they received from the AP, USA Today, and BCS rankings on Sunday. And as proud as I am of those two things, I am also scared out of my freaking mind. So, I’m selling our #1 ranking to the highest bidder any time between now and 3:29pm ET on Saturday. Really I’ll give it to you free of charge. You just have to promise to give it back after the SEC championship game. I love being ranked #1 in the regular season for the first time since 1980, but I don’t like the pressure that comes with it. I’ve pretty much felt the entire season like I was waiting for the other shoe to drop, but at the same time if anyone can pull them through the pressure, I think it’s Nick Saban.
  • Rocky Top: This week Phillip Fulmer announced that he would step down after his 17th season as head coach of the Tennessee Volunteers based on a request from the school’s athletic department. As much as I am an Alabama fan, I was kind of sad about this. That doesn’t mean that I haven’t wholeheartedly hated this man during football season or because of the way he weaseled his way out of NCAA sanctions by ratting out everyone else in the SEC. But it’s just that the SEC will not be the same without him. I also have a little bit of a place in my heart for him because he was Peyton’s college coach. This was the man who managed to get Peyton Manning to skirt an offer from his father’s alma mater and play for a rival SEC school. He is responsible for creating a good bit of the quarterback we see today, and for that I’m thankful. Best of luck to the Great Pumpkin.
  • Incredible Crabtree: Saturday night I watched the Texas/Texas Tech game. I have some friends who graduated from Tech, so I tend to pay attention. Plus with Texas being #1 at the time, I’m always curious to see how they play. Amazed doesn’t even begin to describe what I saw in the last minute and a half of that game. After Texas had scored their last touchdown, I vehemently announced to my bedroom walls that I hated all teams who wore orange regardless of the shade. Then Harrell marched Tech right down the field to this amazing catch by Michael Crabtree. I am stunned that he was able to stay in bounds, on his toes no less, to score the final touchdown. Kudos to Texas for mounting a really great comeback, but Tech was just too determined. After that final Tech TD, I found myself wondering if Harrell and Crabtree were available for the Colts/Pats game the following Sunday night.
  • Taking What We Can Get: That’s basically where we are as Colts fans. We’ll take a win…no matter how we get it or by how many points. We’re down to a depth chart of three cornerbacks to fill two positions. The Patriots should have lit up our secondary during that game like no tomorrow. They tried that once to Gaffney, but he dropped it right through his hands. But, when your running game is busy lighting up the D-line for 140 yards on 32 carries why try something else. The biggest thing I noticed was the 3rd down conversions that the Colts defense continues to give up. We can’t seem to get them off the field. I looked at the stats afterwards because when you’re watching, it seems like they give up every 3rd down, but actually the Pats were 8 of 14. I figured out that of the 6 they didn’t convert, 3 were converted into field goals on 4th down, 2 resulted in punts, and 1 led to a 4th down interception. I had been begging for that interception all night and finally got it. But, in the end, Peyton managed to execute a near perfect QB performance by spreading his passing around to 7 different receivers and handing off to both Addai and Rhodes. That first scoring drive in the first half gave me the biggest smile I’ve had all season watching the Colts. Peyton did not throw an incompletion and the O-line was phenomenal. Now I’m going to say something that is completely unfounded and likely false, but I think Adam Vinatieri is on steroids. The man is 9 of 20 on 50+ yard field goals in his career. The last time he made one from that distance was in a game against Chicago on November 10, 2002 when he was playing for New England, but he makes a 52 yarder Sunday night. Plus, he already has 8 touchbacks on kickoffs this season. He had 9 total the entire season last year. I’m just saying…something’s fishy for a man who will be 36 years old next month to be kicking that well, but I’ll take it cause he looks fabulous doing it! Like I’ve said before, when the Colts play Colts Ball, it’s a beautiful thing to watch. The Steelers are next and coming off a huge win over the Skins on Monday night. Yep…I’m scared.

Happy Wednesday. And to those whose candidate won last night congratulations. To those whose candidate didn’t win last night, it’s gonna be ok.

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on November 2008, in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for the shout out!

    There aren’t many luxuries for Tech fans, but this year we’ve got the one luxury, that in situation’s like that we worry a little less knowing Michael Crabtree is on the field.

Leave a Reply

