With His Eyes Closed

I thought he was mad that he didn’t come in under 1:52 or perhaps he was mad about not winning the first 50 meters. But, I stuck around long enough to see the gold winning 4x200M free relay team’s interview with Andrea Kremer where she asked him about his reaction to winning the 200M fly. So, here I am thinking he can’t possibly amaze me any more than he already has. I’ve topped out. But, wait, it wasn’t the time, it wasn’t the first 50M. It was the water that was filling up in his goggles from the very second he dove into the pool. He says he couldn’t see at all for the last 100M. That’s half the freaking event. So, now, I think I have really topped out. What else can you say about an athlete who can compete in his chosen sport with his eyes closed?!?

Here’s a good article from ESPN the Magazine about what Michael is trying to do in Beijing and the obstacles that are staring him right in the face.

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on August 2008, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s mind-blowing, isn’t it? The boy is a maniac.

  2. I know. I’m still getting nervous as the events come and go. It’s like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop.

Leave a Reply

