Taking Stock

This morning on my radio they mentioned that it was the last day of July. Of course, I already knew this, but I didn’t really put much thought into it. Until I realized that meant I had 10 days left before I turn 30. Then, I thought about all the things that I had packed into the last 10 years as well as some of the things I’ve seen happen to our world. Then, I thought (yeah, I did a lot of thinking on my way to work this morning) what’s better on a blog than a list…of anything. So I present, for your reading pleasure, 30 things I saw or did or learned in my 20s.

  1. I graduated from college…twice.
  2. I saw Alabama win its 21st SEC championship in football by beating Florida for the second time in the same season.
  3. I worked in Mississippi for MCI WorldCom…before the downfall.
  4. I went to a Backstreet Boys concert.
  5. I had my heart yanked out of me and stomped on…not literally…but you know what I mean…and then…I felt God’s arms wrap around me and put me back together.
  6. I moved to Washington, DC.
  7. I bought a car.
  8. I worked for the Department of Defense.
  9. I witnessed 9/11…in person.
  10. I went to six Bon Jovi concerts.
  11. I had surgery…twice.
  12. I worked for Congress.
  13. I shoveled snow.
  14. I traveled to Arizona, Washington (state), California, Texas, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Indiana, Colorado, Missouri, Massachusetts, and Louisiana…not necessarily in that order.
  15. I worked for great people and horrible people…still work for one of those…guess which one.
  16. I was a bridesmaid…three times.
  17. I saw my best friend go through the worst time in her life, but by the time I turn 30, she will be the happiest she’s ever been.
  18. I saw North Carolina win its 5th basketball national championship…and I saw the Tar Heels play Maryland in College Park three times.
  19. I went to Chapel Hill…a few times.
  20. I saw Peyton Manning play professionally, and I saw the Indianapolis Colts win the Super Bowl.
  21. I met Dallas Clark, Jeff Saturday, Adam Vinatieri, Tony Dungy, Bill Polian, Jim Irsay, and Peyton Manning.
  22. I saw Hurricane Charley tear my hometown apart.
  23. I saw Nelson and Grant come into this world.
  24. I saw my brother live his dream of becoming a basketball coach.
  25. I saw my brother get married and become a father.
  26. I gave my heart away…to my nephew.
  27. I learned to recognize true friendship.
  28. I learned that no matter what they might think, people in their 20s (usually early 20s) DO NOT know everything.
  29. I learned that age does not equate to maturity.
  30. I learned that God doesn’t give you what you want…He gives you what you need.
About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on July 2008, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m pretty sure you also met me in the last 10 years. That seems note-worthy enough for your list 🙂

    Jeff

  2. Apparently you skipped over #27.

  3. I worked for MCI Worldcom in Ashburn… before the downfall. Did you know Bernie? Creepy guy. Love the “In my 20s” list idea!

  4. I was actually only there for 2 1/2 months. I was an intern and I worked for the internal audit group that was headed by the eventual whistle blower.

    I think I SAW Bernie once. He was an odd cat though.

Leave a Reply

