Jazzed for July

I don’t know why, but I woke up this morning incredibly excited that it was July.  Maybe it’s just because I happen to like the start of a new month or maybe I’m just a freak.  I’m leaning towards the latter.  Either way, I thought I’d throw out a little fun lovin’ tidbits and things I’ve been thinking about.  Now that I have my friend Sammie back at work, I have someone to bounce these things off of before I publicize them to the world-at-large.  Here’s some of what passed:

  • McDonald’s recently introduced their knock off of the Chick-fil-A sandwich.  I was a bit skeptical at first because it was a knock off and really there is no substitute for Chick-fil-A.  That said, I decided to try it anyway because I can’t hate a food unless I’ve tried it, and I’m actually a McDonald’s girl when it comes to choosing between them and Burger King or Wendy’s.  Their fries are the best and every now and then (not often) I just get a craving for a quarter pounder with cheese.  Anyway, the McDonald’s chicken sandwich really isn’t half bad, and qualifies as next best thing when there is no Chick-fil-A around.  Here’s my theory: Chick-fil-A is not open on Sundays for reasons that I completely agree with.  However, even as a Christian, I get cravings for Chick-fil-A on Sundays.  Next time that happens, I’m going to McDonald’s. 
  • Lincoln had a check up at the doctor yesterday.  He is now over 29 inches long, which is in the 95th percentile for height…Well on his way to being giant sized to go along with his giant personality. 🙂
  • Traffic during my commute has gotten considerably better since the last day of school.  Even though it’s summer and lots of tourists who REALLY don’t know how to drive are on the roads (on top of the people who live here and STILL don’t know how to drive), it’s been ok.  Until yesterday.  At the Pentagon, they have a police officer who directs traffic at the intersection where cars come in and out of the parking lot from I-395.  In the summer, I think the Pentagon employs rent-a-cops for this duty because the line of traffic getting off at the Pentagon can back up a good 1/2 a mile or more.  And though traffic isn’t at a stand still, traffic can be stop and go from where I get on (10 miles away) all the way to the Pentagon because of the line.  If I wasn’t trying to get to work, I’d probably stop and tell the cop that he’s backing traffic up those 10 miles, but I have better things to do with my time.
  • My parents arrive on Thursday afternoon for a week.  They’ll be here for the 4th.  Dad is going to the AT&T National (sans Tiger) Golf Tournament on the 5th.  Perhaps ole Lefty can make the cut this year, and Dad can follow him around instead.  Mom and I will be shopping that day!  Can’t wait.  Then on the 10th, the three of us are driving down to North Carolina for a visit.  We’re stopping in Chapel Hill for a visit to the new Carolina Basketball Museum.  I CANNOT WAIT!  Everything I’ve heard about it from people who have been there is fantastic.  I even found one review from someone who said it was better than the Louvre.  Since I haven’t been to either, I’ll take his word for it.  🙂  From what I understand, the museum experience starts out with a behind the scenes look at getting ready for tip-off where the camera acts as a player and the viewers get to “run out on the court” with the team via the footage.  After that, we’ll stop where my mom grew up and visit family and friends, and I’ll come back on Sunday when mom and dad leave for home.  It’s a mini-vacation for me.
  • Speaking of Carolina…Tyler Hansbrough wins the WHAT PLANET ARE YOU FROM award for this go around.  I was reading this article on ESPN.com about how this year’s NCAA basketball teams will have more upperclassmen than we’ve see in college basketball in years.  Tyler Hansbrough is, of course, one of them.  Andy Glockner (who wrote the article) spoke with Tyler about why he chose to return:
    • “I really enjoy going to school and being around my teammates, so it wasn’t necessary for me to leave, and I didn’t feel like I needed anybody or anything,” Hansbrough said. “I love the situation here. It’s going to be tough to beat that, so I figure I can wait one more year and improve on a lot of different things and hopefully be in a better situation next year for when I do have to go.”
    • So I ask you, what planet are you from that makes you think graduating from college and moving on to the NBA is best described with the phrase “HAVE TO GO?”  I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating: I LOVE THIS KID if for no other reason but that he publicly admits he has no use for the NBA.
  • Yesterday, New York and Bon Jovi announced that the band would be giving a free concert in Central Park as part of the MLB All-Star game at Yankee Stadium.  I wish I could go, but (1) you have to pick up your ticket from Yankee or Shea Stadium and (2) Central Park is not exactly my cup of tea…at least not at night with that many of my closest Bon Jovi brethren around me.  It will be pretty awesome though, and I’m hoping that at least a little bit of it will be televised on the All-Star coverage.  Perhaps Bon Jovi will put out a DVD of the concert like Garth Brooks did when he had his free Central Park concert. 
  • Also on the music front: Mr. Telephone Man‘s got the right stuff, baby.  According to People.com, New Kids on the Block and New Edition cut a track together for the upcoming NKOTB album.
  • So Shaun Alexander was cut by the Seattle Seahawks at the beginning of the off season, and now the Orlando Sentinel is speculating that the reason he can’t find a team to pick him up on the free agency market is because he’s a Christian.  As a Christian myself and a football fan, I dearly hope this is not true.  I’m leaning more towards the 30+ year old running back being the issue.  However, Shaun Alexander has never failed to sign every single one of his autographs with Psalm 37:4 (Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.).  More than that, Shaun has lived that verse every day of his life, so regardless of what the reason is for NFL teams shunning this spectacular athlete, I choose to believe that where ever he lands in life is exactly where the Lord wants him to be, which is all Shaun has ever asked for. 
  • Finally, thoughts and prayers go out to my friend Lynden’s mom who is having surgery for ovarian cancer today.  So, if you have a moment and you pray, please lift her up.  Thanks!
About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on July 2008, in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

