Old Habits

Old habits apparently die hard.

The New Kids on the Block announced on the Today Show this morning that they are back together and have been recording music since August for a new album to be released this summer.  They are slated to perform on the Today Show on May 18th (I think that’s what Meredith Veira said) in advance of said album release.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I make no effort to hide the fact that I was an NKOTB fanatic in elementary and junior high school.  I can’t necessarily tell you a lot about the guys, but at the time, that was the music that, at least most of the people I knew, listened to.  I have followed Joey’s career more than any of them because, yes, he was my favorite.  He’s the closest one to my age, so I guess that’s what drew me to him.  Plus, his performance of Please Don’t Go Girl didn’t hurt.  Joey is married, and he and his wife have a baby boy who was born late last year, so he’s done well for himself.

As for the other guys.  Jordan was never really high on my list.  I know plenty of people who thought he was fabulous, but he always seemed rather cocky to me.  Jonathan is Jordan’s brother.  He was always really quiet, and quite frankly, I’m surprised they managed to get him to come back for this.  He seemed like he was the first one ready to get out when splitting up was first considered.  Donnie is Mark Wahlberg’s brother.  I’ve enjoyed Donnie’s acting much more than his performance/singing, but he’s still not as good an actor as his baby brother.  And, Danny, to me, always seemed like the misfit.  I’m not sure I ever felt like he fit in with the rest of the guys, but he was part of them nonetheless.

So what do we have to “look forward to?”  Well I will say that I’ll probably listen to what they have to offer (before I even think about buying an entire CD).  I don’t honestly know how long this will last because to be honest with you, most of the people who loved them are about my age and the people my age are mostly married with kids.  Maybe there’ll be a next generation of fans.  Who knows, but for all the criticism and jokes at their expense they’re about to take, I gotta give ’em credit for having the courage (or perhaps delusional stupidity) to do this.  It could tank right off the bat or it could actually take off.  Who knows, maybe they have the right stuff for another go around.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on April 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am embarrassed to say that I Tevo’d this today and am looking forward to watching it tonight! I wasn’t a crazy fan, but have the tapes and know some of the dances. Jonathan was my favorite!

  2. I Tivo’d it as well because I thought they were going to sing one of their new songs so I could hear what it sounded like. I didn’t realize it was just going to be an introduction.

Leave a Reply

