Progress

1994: Byron De La Beckwith…CHECK
(Rest in Peace: Medgar Evers)

2001: Thomas Blanton…CHECK
(Rest in Peace: Addie Mae Collins, Denise McNair, Carole Robertson, and Cynthia Wesley)

2002: Bobby Frank Cherry…CHECK
(Rest in Peace: Addie Mae Collins, Denise McNair, Carole Robertson, and Cynthia Wesley)

2005: Edgar Ray Killen…CHECK
(Rest in Peace: James Chaney, Andrew Goodman, and Michael Schwerner)

NEXT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About Leann

Lazy Pancreas Owner. TV/Movie/Theatre Junkie. Sports Fanatic. Peyton Manning Expert. Alabama Graduate. Car Karaoke Performer. Believer In Love. Come along for the ride.

Posted on June 2005, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Shayna Willis

    I drove by a Baptist church this morning that had been burned to the ground and thought, “How is it possible that this kind of hate still exists?” I wish that jail fixed things like that, but only God can . . .

  2. I agree…Only God can fix the hatred through the love that He puts into our own hearts. I just hope and pray that the families of the victims have found comfort in these verdicts. It may not be true justice when it takes 30 or 40 years to find someone guilty, but at least it can provide some sort of closure for the families. Progress is definitely a baby step process and it begins with every one of us NOT teaching hatred to our future generations and teaching God’s Love.

  3. I don’t know sometimes LeAnn. When I see then Klansmen with their babies in white hoods it crushes my hope. I donate to the SPLC which works on a lot of this stuff, but it just makes me so mad I just want to take the fight to them. The sad part is that there are thousands of names lacking justice in our country today and it feels like it’s getting worse.

  4. When images like that appear (as they do in the movie “Mississippi Burning”) that crush our hope…that is when we have to fight harder. If they crush our hope, then they’ve won. If we stop the fight, then they’ve won. No one said it was going to be easy to help MLK, Jr. achieve his dream, but each of us has a voice to use for good or for bad. What do you choose?

  5. That’s the part that I find hard to accept. How can I fight harder? When I found Klan literature in my front lawn, I called the police and they said there was nothing they could do about it. There address and phone number is on the literature, how much trouble is it to track them down and stop them? I’m all for free speech, but when it comes into my front yard I want to be able to do something about it. And what we are all lacking is a way to actually take the fight to them. How do we mute their hate and undermine the growth of their organizations?

  6. I think you know the answer to that, but I’ll tell you anyway…by electing stronger leaders who aren’t afraid to stand up for the cause and pass legislation that will mute their hate. But don’t lose hope…the world is changed by each one of us making a difference in our little part of the world.

  7. I couldn’t lose hope if I wanted, I have to look into my little angel’s eyes every morning and explain to her why there is an evil world outside our doors.

  8. it’s a different story of hate, but the HBO movie “SOMETIMES IN APRIL” is rivetting. and raises more questions related to the issue of hate.

Leave a comment